Market Research Report Example for an Early-Years EdTech Product
The scenario
Marcus Reed, Head of Product at Nimbletots, is writing this Market Research Report for the founder, Tom Fisher (CEO), and the leadership team. Nimbletots is an established consumer app (roughly 180,000 active family accounts across the UK and Ireland at an illustrative £6.99 per month); the proposed 'Nimbletots for Schools' tier is a B2B expansion aimed at nurseries, pre-schools and reception classes.
The report answers one gating question before the company commits two squads to a build: is the England early-years settings market large enough, growing and willing to pay to justify Nimbletots for Schools? It is written strategically and ROI-first, so leadership can decide whether to fund the full Opportunity Assessment and Business Case it feeds.
Assumptions
- Nimbletots has around 180,000 active family accounts, mostly UK and Ireland (illustrative internal figure).
- The consumer product sells at an illustrative £6.99 per month.
- The proposed schools tier targets England early-years settings first, before Scotland, Wales, Northern Ireland or export markets.
- Pilot willingness-to-pay signals (spring 2026, 12 settings, 40 educators, ~600 children) are indicative, not contracted revenue.
- The buyer-economics figures (educators per setting, hourly value of educator time) are an illustrative internal model, not external research.
The completed document
Produced with Gensudo. Superscript markers like [1] link to the sources listed at the end.
Executive Summary
The England early-years market is large enough, statutorily durable and under-served on the specific job Nimbletots for Schools would do: turning children's play-based practice into EYFS-aligned progress evidence with almost no extra educator effort. I recommend we proceed to a full Opportunity Assessment and Business Case for the private non-domestic nursery and pre-school segment, and hold the maintained-schools reception segment for separate later sizing.
The case rests on four points. Size: 27,900 nurseries and pre-schools operate on non-domestic premises in England, within 59,700 Ofsted-registered childcare providers overall [1]. Durability: every one works to a single statutory framework, the EYFS, which mandates ongoing assessment [2] — the reporting burden we address is fixed by law, not fashion. Direction: UK EdTech is forecast to grow at about 13% a year to 2030, with pre-school the fastest-growing segment [3]. Early demand: across our 12-setting spring 2026 pilot, 9 of 12 settings said they would pay to continue, at roughly £3 to £4 per child or £300 to £500 per setting per year (Nimbletots pilot data, illustrative) [4].
The principal risks are a crowded record-keeping market (Tapestry, Famly and Kinderly already serve these settings [7][8][9]), thin setting budgets, and a heightened compliance bar for a child-facing schools product under the ICO Children's Code [11]. None is a stop signal; each shapes scope and price.
Decisions required from leadership: (1) approve funding for the Opportunity Assessment and Business Case; (2) confirm England private non-domestic settings as the v1 target; (3) accept that reception-class sizing is deferred.
The counter-case: a reasonable reading of the same evidence says hold. Willingness to pay comes from 12 self-selecting pilot settings, not a cold market; the segment is already served by cheaper incumbents priced near £4 per child [7]; and a child-facing schools product carries safeguarding and Children's Code cost we have not yet quantified [11]. What would change my recommendation to 'not now': if colder buyer interviews outside the pilot cohort show willingness to pay collapsing once benchmarked against Tapestry's roughly £164-per-setting list price [7], the near-term revenue is too thin to fund two squads and we should defer.
Why this works — As the opening summary it is answer-first — recommendation, then the four load-bearing facts, the risks and the exact decisions leadership must take — and the required counter-evidence block states an honest 'hold' case and the single finding that would overturn the recommendation.
Purpose, Decision Context and Success Metrics
I commissioned this research to answer one question before we commit build capacity: is the England early-years settings market large enough, growing and willing to pay to justify building Nimbletots for Schools?
It informs three gated decisions, in sequence: whether to fund a full Opportunity Assessment; whether the subsequent Business Case clears our investment bar; and, if both pass, how we scope v1 and set the launch price. A negative finding here stops spend before we size a build.
The commercial metrics in scope are the ones a schools tier would move: new annual recurring revenue from settings (a new B2B line distinct from our roughly 180,000 consumer family accounts at £6.99 per month), blended gross margin after the added safeguarding and compliance overhead of a child-facing schools product, and the payback period on a setting sale. The product metrics that would signal the tier is working are setting activation, educator weekly-active rate (83% in the pilot) and setting retention (9 of 12 pilot settings intending to continue) (Nimbletots pilot data, illustrative) [4].
This report deliberately stops at market attractiveness. It does not set the price, model the profit and loss, or design the product — those sit in the Business Case and Opportunity Assessment it feeds.
Why this works — It frames the report as one step in a gated investment decision and names the exact commercial and product metrics a schools tier would move, so leadership reads the findings against the decisions they actually inform rather than in the abstract.
Research Scope and Method
In scope: the England market for a setting-facing early-years progress-and-learning tool — market size, growth, segments, willingness to pay, competition and regulatory context. Out of scope: Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland (different curricula and inspection regimes), international markets, and the maintained-schools reception segment, which needs the DfE schools census rather than the Ofsted childcare register and is deferred.
Method — triangulation across three source types:
- Official statistics for market size and structure: Ofsted's registered-provider counts at 31 March 2026 [1] and the DfE statutory EYFS framework [2].
- Published external evidence for trends and demand: an EdTech market forecast [3], EEF early-literacy impact [5], Ofcom children's media-use data [6], WHO screen-time guidance [12] and the ICO Children's Code [11].
- Primary internal evidence for demand and willingness to pay: our 8-week spring 2026 pilot with 12 settings, 40 educators and about 600 children (Nimbletots pilot data, illustrative) [4].
Time period: market statistics are the latest available (2026 provider counts; forecasts to 2030). Sample limitation: the pilot cohort is small (n=12) and self-selecting — settings that opted into a Nimbletots trial are more favourable than the average buyer. It is a directional signal, not a market survey.
Where this method is weakest: the sizing rests on a real, hard provider count [1], but every demand and willingness-to-pay figure comes from one small, friendly pilot [4]. If those two disagree — a big addressable market but weak cold-buyer demand — the market is not what the pilot implies. What would raise my confidence from 'directional' to 'decision-grade': an independent survey of 40 to 60 settings drawn from outside the pilot, and one published third-party benchmark of setting willingness to pay to corroborate our internal figure.
Why this works — It states scope, exclusions, the three source types and the exact sample, then the counter-evidence block names the method's real weakness — hard sizing but soft, self-selected demand — and the specific validation that would upgrade its confidence.
Market Definition and Boundaries
I define the target market narrowly: England early-years settings that deliver the EYFS and must assess children's progress against it [2]. This is deliberately tighter than the consumer market Nimbletots already serves.
In the market (primary): nurseries and pre-schools on non-domestic premises — 27,900 providers at 31 March 2026 [1]. They employ several educators, carry the heaviest tracking burden and can adopt a class-level tool.
Adjacent, sized separately: reception and Year 1 classes in maintained primary schools, which deliver the EYFS in reception but are not on the Ofsted childcare register [1] and buy through school budgets.
Secondary, lower priority: childminders — 24,700 providers [1], mostly sole traders with a handful of children, for whom a class dashboard is over-specified.
The category we are entering already exists. The setting-facing job — record observations, evidence EYFS progress, share with parents — is served today by established learning-journal and nursery-management platforms: Tapestry, from the Foundation Stage Forum, used across thousands of settings and priced from about £68 to £164 per setting per year, roughly £3 to £4 per child [7]; Famly [8]; and Kinderly [9], among others. Nimbletots' distinction is that we bring adaptive learning content for children alongside the progress evidence, where incumbents are chiefly record-keeping. That is our claim to a boundary of our own — a claim to be proven, not assumed.
The uncomfortable boundary question: are we defining a new market, or entering Tapestry's? If buyers see us as 'another learning journal', we compete on price against a roughly £164 incumbent [7] and the definition above is too generous. What would confirm the wider boundary: pilot and cold-buyer evidence that settings value the adaptive learning content as a distinct line item they would pay a premium for — not merely a nicer journal.
Why this works — It fixes the boundary to a serviceable segment, is explicit about what is adjacent or secondary, and names the real incumbent category — and the counter-evidence block confronts the load-bearing risk that the market is not new at all but Tapestry's, with the test that would settle it.
Market Sizing and Model
I size the market bottom-up from the Ofsted provider count [1], not top-down from a single EdTech valuation — a hard count of settings is far more defensible than apportioning a headline market number.
| Layer | Definition | Basis (source) | Settings | Price assumption (illustrative) | Annual value | Confidence |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TAM | All Ofsted-registered EYFS providers in England | 27,900 non-domestic + 24,700 childminders = 52,600 [1] | 52,600 | £300 to £500 per setting | £16m to £26m (outer ceiling) | Low — childminders over-served by a class tool |
| SAM | Non-domestic nurseries and pre-schools | 27,900 [1] | 27,900 | £300 to £500 per setting | £8.4m to £14.0m | Medium — matches product fit |
| SOM (3-year) | Realistic near-term penetration of SAM | 3% to 5% of 27,900 | ~840 to 1,400 | £400 per setting (mid) | £0.34m to £0.56m ARR | Low to medium — pilot-based |
Cross-check (per-child method): the 1.31 million places on the Early Years Register [1] at £3 to £4 per child imply a £3.9m to £5.2m envelope across all provider types — the same order of magnitude as the SAM per-setting figure, which gives me reasonable confidence in the £8m to £14m serviceable ceiling.
Sensitivity: the SOM swings most on penetration and price. At 2% penetration and £300 the 3-year ARR is about £167k; at 5% and £500 it is about £700k. Neither is large relative to a two-squad build — which is exactly the point of sizing before building.
These are ceilings, not forecasts. Realistic near-term revenue is the SOM row, a small fraction of the SAM.
What would shrink this materially: the SAM assumes settings pay £300 to £500, roughly two to three times Tapestry's approximately £164 list price [7]. If buyers anchor to the incumbent, our effective price is £150 to £200 and the SAM roughly halves, to about £4.2m to £5.6m. What would grow it: winning the adjacent reception segment, or a per-child model landing above £4 — both of which need evidence we do not yet have.
Why this works — The required table gives a full TAM/SAM/SOM model with method, price assumptions and per-layer confidence, cross-checked by an independent per-child calculation; the counter-evidence block quantifies exactly how much the incumbent's price could compress the SAM, so the number is presented with its own downside.
Market Dynamics and Trends
Beyond size, four forces shape whether this market rewards entry now.
Growth (tailwind). UK EdTech is forecast to grow about 13% a year to 2030, and Grand View Research names pre-school the fastest-growing sector within it [3]. I use this only as a direction signal — vendor market valuations vary too widely to anchor a revenue plan.
Statutory assessment (durable driver). The EYFS is a statutory framework every provider must meet, requiring ongoing observation and assessment of each child and progress summaries for parents [2]. That administrative load is fixed by law, not preference — it is the pain we monetise.
Regulatory tightening (headwind and moat). A child-facing schools product falls squarely under the ICO's Children's Code, which sets 15 standards for online services likely to be accessed by under-18s and requires the best interests of the child by design [11]. This raises our build and compliance cost, but it also raises the bar for competitors and rewards a provider that treats safeguarding as a feature.
Screen-time scrutiny (headwind). Public and parental concern about young children's screen use is real: WHO recommends no more than one hour of sedentary screen time a day for children aged 3 to 4, and less is better [12]. Nimbletots' short, adaptive, educator-directed sessions must be positioned against that backdrop, not in denial of it. Demand-side readiness is nonetheless present — around three-quarters of five-to-seven-year-olds already use a tablet [6], so device access is not the barrier.
Why this works — It separates market direction from market size — the growth forecast is used only as a tailwind — and ties each durable force (statutory assessment, the Children's Code, screen-time scrutiny, device readiness) to an independent real source rather than a single data point.
Customer Segments and Demand
Priority segment: non-domestic nurseries and pre-schools [1] — highest tracking burden, multiple educators, and budget authority held at setting level.
The job to be done. Educators must evidence EYFS progress continuously, and that reporting is time-expensive. In the pilot, educators self-reported saving a median of about 2.5 hours per week on planning and progress tracking, across 40 educators (Nimbletots pilot data, illustrative) [4] — time is the sector's scarcest resource. The value we sell is reclaimed educator time plus credible evidence of learning, not screen minutes.
Outcome credibility matters to this buyer. Settings increasingly need to show impact, not activity. The EEF rates early-literacy approaches at, on average, four additional months of progress [5] — an external benchmark for the kind of practice Nimbletots supports, and the language a setting uses to justify spend to parents and inspectors.
Evidence of real demand (early). Across the 12 pilot settings, participants indicated a willingness to pay of about £3 to £4 per child per year, or a flat £300 to £500 per setting (smaller settings preferred the flat option), and 9 of 12 said they would pay to continue after the pilot; educator weekly-active reached 83% and 78% of children used it in six or more of the eight weeks (Nimbletots pilot data, illustrative) [4].
Buying trigger. Decisions cluster around the academic year — settings review tools in the summer term for a September start. That gives a clear annual sales rhythm but also a narrow window.
Why this works — It anchors demand in the job to be done (reclaiming educator time and evidencing progress), backs the outcome claim with an independent EEF benchmark, and presents the pilot willingness-to-pay as a labelled range with its sample size — honest that opt-in pilot demand is an early signal, not the whole market.
Buyer Economics and Procurement Context
The figures in this section are our illustrative internal buyer model, not external research (Nimbletots internal buyer-economics model, 2026, illustrative) [10]; the willingness-to-pay evidence is from the pilot [4].
Economic buyer. In a private nursery or pre-school, the setting manager or owner holds the software budget and signs off directly — a single decision-maker, low in the organisation. In a maintained-school reception class, the EYFS lead or head teacher decides against the school budget, a slower and more committee-bound path. This is a further reason to target private non-domestic settings for v1.
Procurement friction — low. At £300 to £500 per setting per year our tier sits well below the thresholds that trigger formal tender or governor approval in most settings. Sales is a direct annual subscription, typically by card or invoice, with no framework agreement required — closer to consumer SaaS than public procurement.
The ROI the buyer will run (illustrative). A setting weighs our fee against educator time reclaimed:
| Item | Illustrative value | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Nimbletots for Schools fee | £400 per setting per year | Mid of pilot willingness-to-pay band [4] |
| Educators per setting | 6 | Typical small nursery (illustrative) [10] |
| Time saved per educator per week | 2.5 hours | Pilot median [4] |
| Total time saved per year (38 weeks) | ~570 hours | 6 × 2.5 × 38 [10] |
| Value at £12 per hour (illustrative) | ~£6,840 | [10] |
| Illustrative payback | Under one month of reclaimed time | £400 against £6,840 |
Even discounting self-reported time heavily, the payback story is strong on paper — the risk is not the arithmetic but whether the buyer believes the time-saving before they have felt it, which is why the pilot's continue-to-pay signal (9 of 12) [4] matters more than the model.
Pricing tension to carry into the Business Case. Our £300 to £500 band is roughly two to three times Tapestry's approximately £164 list price [7]. The ROI above can justify the premium, but only if we sell reclaimed time and learning outcomes, not record-keeping — against a journal alone, we look expensive.
Buying cycle. Summer-term evaluation, September adoption; expect a one-to-three-month sales cycle for a private setting, and longer for schools.
Why this works — This is the user_only section: it acts as the team, inserting clearly labelled illustrative Nimbletots figures for the buyer, procurement friction and a full ROI model, while grounding the willingness-to-pay in the pilot and flagging the real premium-to-incumbent tension the Business Case must resolve — no fictional number is dressed up as external research.
Competitive and Substitute Landscape
Demand for evidencing EYFS progress is already met in several ways; we enter a served market, not an empty one.
| Option | What it is | Positioning | Public price | Gap versus Nimbletots |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tapestry (Foundation Stage Forum) | Online learning journal plus nursery management | Category leader, thousands of settings | ~£68 to £164 per setting per year (~£3 to £4 per child) [7] | Record-keeping; no adaptive child-facing learning content |
| Famly | Nursery management, observations and parent comms | Feature-broad management platform | Not publicly disclosed [8] | Management-led; learning content is not the core |
| Kinderly | EYFS learning journal and management | Time-saving admin for settings | Not publicly disclosed [9] | Journal and admin; no adaptive learning |
| Paper and spreadsheets ('do nothing') | Manual observation and tracking | Free, entrenched, zero switching cost | £0 | The real default and the hardest competitor |
| Consumer apps used ad hoc | Child-facing content, not setting tools | Used by families, not classes | Consumer pricing | Not built for class-level EYFS evidence |
Reading the table. The incumbents own record-keeping; none pairs it with adaptive learning content for the children themselves — that is the whitespace Nimbletots claims. But the genuine competitor is doing nothing: manual tracking is free and habitual, so our pitch is against inertia as much as against Tapestry.
Honest gap. Competitors' internal metrics — their actual setting counts, churn, contract values and roadmap — are not public, and I have not estimated them; treating a vendor's marketing claims as fact would be a mistake. Famly's and Kinderly's per-setting pricing is not publicly disclosed [8][9], so any head-to-head price comparison beyond Tapestry is inferred, not verified. A structured win/loss and pricing study belongs in the companion Competitive Analysis.
Why this works — It maps the served market — real named incumbents with only their genuinely public pricing shown — and correctly identifies 'do nothing' as the hardest competitor, while stating plainly that competitors' internal figures and undisclosed pricing are an honest gap rather than inventing them.
Opportunity Sizing and Attractiveness
Ranking the routes into this market on value, accessibility, timing and strategic fit:
| Opportunity | Value | Accessibility | Strategic fit | Rank |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Private non-domestic nurseries and pre-schools | £8m to £14m SAM [1] | High — single buyer, low friction | Direct extension of our content | 1 (pursue now) |
| Maintained-school reception classes | Large but unsized (schools census needed) | Low — school budgets, slow cycle | Same content, harder buyer | 2 (size later) |
| Childminders | Thin per-account [1] | High volume, low value | Product over-specified | 3 (opportunistic) |
| Consumer-to-setting referral (our ~180k families) | Unquantified | Medium — warm base | Leverages existing brand | Watch |
The attractive opportunity is #1: the private non-domestic segment combines a defensible size, the lowest procurement friction and the tightest fit to what we already build. It is also accessible now — the summer-term buying window and our warm consumer brand give a plausible first-year entry. Reception is bigger but gated by school procurement and needs its own sizing before we invest.
Strategic fit. A schools tier turns Nimbletots from a single consumer line into a two-sided early-years business, and the setting relationship can, in time, feed consumer acquisition (families discovering us through their nursery) — an upside I flag but do not bank.
Why this works — It ranks the opportunities against explicit criteria in a scored table rather than asserting a winner, and justifies pursuing the private non-domestic segment first on the combination of defensible size, low friction and product fit — while naming the two-sided-business upside without banking it.
Strategic Implications and Recommendations
The market clears our bar to investigate, not yet to build. It is large enough to matter, statutorily durable and showing early willingness to pay — enough to justify the next gated spend, not enough to commit two squads on today's evidence.
Recommendations:
- Proceed to a full Opportunity Assessment and Business Case for the private non-domestic segment. Defer reception-class sizing to a separate later piece using the DfE schools census.
- Position on outcomes, not admin. Sell reclaimed educator time [4] and credible EYFS-aligned progress evidence [2][5] — explicitly not 'another learning journal', or we lose on price to Tapestry [7].
- Price to the value, and test it cold. Carry the £300 to £500 per setting band [4] into the Business Case, but validate it against buyers outside the pilot before fixing a list price, given the two-to-three-times premium to the incumbent [7].
- Treat Children's Code compliance as a positioning asset, not just a cost [11] — safeguarding by design is a credible differentiator to a schools buyer.
- Align go-to-market to the academic calendar — summer-term evaluation, September adoption.
Next step: fund the Opportunity Assessment. This report is its evidence base.
Why this works — The recommendation follows directly from the evidence, draws the crucial 'investigate, not build' line, and gives leadership a numbered set of positioning, pricing and GTM actions with a single concrete next step, so they know precisely what they are approving.
Risks, Constraints and No-Go Signals
| Risk or constraint | Why it matters | No-go or reshape signal |
|---|---|---|
| Regulatory — Children's Code | A child-facing schools product must meet the ICO's 15 standards and the best-interests-by-design duty [11]; non-compliance is existential | A DPIA outcome or compliance cost that makes the tier unviable at the target price |
| Pricing premium | Our £300 to £500 band is two to three times Tapestry's ~£164 [7]; buyers may anchor to the incumbent | Cold buyers reject the premium and the effective price falls below the margin threshold |
| Thin near-term SOM | The 3-year SOM is about £0.3m to £0.7m ARR against a two-squad build | Business Case payback exceeds our investment horizon |
| Incumbent response | Tapestry, Famly or Kinderly could add light learning content [7][8][9] | An incumbent bundles adaptive content before we reach scale |
| Screen-time reputation | WHO cautions against sedentary screen time for under-5s [12]; a schools product invites scrutiny | Evidence that settings or parents reject app-based practice for this age on principle |
| Evidence quality | Demand rests on n=12 self-selecting pilot settings [4] | A cold-buyer survey contradicts pilot willingness to pay |
The binding constraints are regulatory and commercial, not technical. We can build it; the questions are whether we can price it above the incumbent and clear the Children's Code bar economically.
The single finding that should stop this: if an independent survey of settings outside the pilot shows willingness to pay collapsing toward Tapestry's approximately £164 once buyers benchmark [7], the SAM halves and the SOM cannot fund two squads — at which point we should not build now, and should instead revisit as a lighter add-on or a later phase. Conversely, what would de-risk it fastest: a signed design-partner cohort of ten or more settings committing at the target price before build starts.
Why this works — It registers each risk with a why-it-matters and an explicit no-go or reshape signal, cites the real regulation (the Children's Code) rather than a generic 'compliance' worry, and the counter-evidence block names the one finding that should stop the initiative and the fastest way to de-risk it.
Evidence, Assumptions and Confidence
Source quality. The market structure is anchored in hard official data — Ofsted's 31 March 2026 provider counts [1] and the statutory EYFS framework [2] — which I hold to high confidence. Market direction rests on a single vendor forecast [3], held to low-to-medium confidence and used only as a tailwind. The external benchmarks (EEF [5], Ofcom [6], WHO [12], ICO [11]) are authoritative and current. Competitor facts are limited to what is public — Tapestry's pricing [7] is disclosed; Famly's and Kinderly's are not [8][9].
Assumption log (all internal figures illustrative, from the pilot [4] or our buyer model [10]):
- ~180,000 consumer accounts at £6.99 per month; the schools tier is a new B2B line.
- Willingness to pay £3 to £4 per child, or £300 to £500 per setting (n=12, self-selecting).
- Educator time saved about 2.5 hours per week; engagement 78% of children, 83% of educators.
- The illustrative ROI uses 6 educators per setting and £12 per hour.
Triangulation. Two independent sizing methods (per-setting and per-child) agree at about £8m to £14m SAM [1], which strengthens the sizing; the demand evidence, by contrast, rests on a single source (the pilot) and is the weakest link.
Confidence: medium overall — high on size and structure, low on demand and price. Further validation needed before the revenue forecast is trusted: independent buyer interviews outside the pilot cohort, a reception-segment sizing from the schools census, and a structured competitive and pricing study.
What I could be most wrong about: I have treated the pilot's warm willingness to pay as broadly representative. If it is not — if opt-in settings are systematically more favourable than the market — then the demand half of this report is overstated even though the sizing half is sound. I would revise the recommendation downward if colder evidence fails to reproduce the pilot's £300 to £500 band.
Why this works — It grades each source by confidence, keeps a transparent assumption log that labels every internal figure as illustrative, and the counter-evidence block states plainly the one belief most likely to be wrong (that pilot demand generalises) and what would trigger a downward revision.
Ownership and Review Cadence
Owner: Marcus Reed (Head of Product) owns this report and its assumptions; Sam Whitfield (Head of Growth) owns the willingness-to-pay and competitive inputs; Dr. Amara Okoro (Head of Learning Design) owns the EYFS and outcome-evidence claims.
Refresh cadence: the market-structure figures refresh annually when Ofsted publishes new provider counts [1]; the demand and pricing evidence refreshes as soon as cold-buyer research completes, and again after any pricing test — these supersede the pilot figures once available.
Decisions it informs: this report is the evidence base for the Opportunity Assessment and Business Case; its willingness-to-pay band feeds pricing, and its risk register feeds the go/no-go review.
Communication into planning: findings are presented to Tom Fisher and the leadership team at the next portfolio review; the sizing and SOM feed the annual planning model, and any material change — new Ofsted data, a failed pricing test, or an incumbent moving on learning content — triggers an out-of-cycle update and a note to the leadership team.
Why this works — It assigns clear ownership by claim type, ties the refresh cadence to the external data's own release schedule (annual Ofsted counts) and to pending validation, and states how the findings flow into the Opportunity Assessment, planning model and go/no-go review — so the report stays a living input, not a one-off.
Sources
- [1]Main findings: childcare providers and inspections as at 31 March 2026, Ofsted (GOV.UK) — 59,700 registered providers; 24,700 childminders; 27,900 on non-domestic premises; 1.31 million Early Years Register places
- [2]Early years foundation stage (EYFS) statutory framework, Department for Education (GOV.UK)
- [3]UK Education Technology Market Size & Outlook, 2025-2030, Grand View Research (~13% CAGR to 2030; pre-school fastest-growing sector)
- [4]Nimbletots pilot data, spring 2026 (illustrative, internal)
- [5]Early literacy approaches, EEF Early Years Toolkit, Education Endowment Foundation (average four additional months' progress)
- [6]Children and parents: media use and attitudes report 2024, Ofcom (around three-quarters of 5-7 year-olds use a tablet)
- [7]Pricing & Subscriptions, Tapestry (Foundation Stage Forum) — from £68 to £164 per setting per year
- [8]Nursery Management Software, Famly
- [9]Kinderly Together — Early Years Management Software / EYFS app
- [10]Nimbletots internal buyer-economics model, 2026 (illustrative, internal)
- [11]Introduction to the Children's code (Age Appropriate Design Code), Information Commissioner's Office (15 standards for services likely accessed by under-18s)
- [12]Guidelines on physical activity, sedentary behaviour and sleep for children under 5 years of age, World Health Organization (2019)
Limitations of this example
This example sizes only the England private non-domestic early-years segment and uses illustrative internal figures (from the spring 2026 pilot and a buyer-economics model) for time saved, engagement, willingness to pay, educators per setting and the value of educator time. It does not size the maintained-schools reception segment, does not model the profit and loss or the safeguarding and compliance cost in detail, and does not estimate competitors' undisclosed pricing or internal metrics — all of which a real team would resource properly (independent cold-buyer research, a schools-census sizing and a structured competitive study) before setting a revenue forecast.
See the structure behind this: Market Research Report for Heads of Product template. Or read the step-by-step guide: How to Write a Market Research Report: Steps, Examples and Checklist.
Reviewed by Gensudo Team · Last reviewed 23 July 2026
Create your version from the same structure
Gensudo drafts documents like this one from your project’s context — grounded in cited evidence, ready for review.
Get started